Vital Records

Address
151 W. 7th Ave, Room 520
Eugene, OR 97401

Phone
(541) 682-4045

Se habla español

For TTY/Relay Service, dial 711

Fax
(541) 682-9825

Walk-in Hours 
9:00 AM - 4:30 PM 

Brian Johnson
County Registrar

Holiday Hours -

Our office is closed on Tuesday, December 25 and Tuesday, January 1. Our office will reopen on Wednesday, December 26 and Wednesday, January 2.

Los Horarios de los Días Festivos -

Nuestra oficina estará cerrada el martes 25 de Diciembre y el martes primero de Enero. Nuestra oficina abrirá el miércoles 26 de Diciembre y el miércoles 2 de Enero.

Certificates for births occurring in Lane County for infants younger than 5 months and 28 days can be obtained by placing an order with Lane County Vital Records.

Certificates for deaths occurring in Lane County within the previous six months can also be obtained by placing an order with Lane County Vital Records.

Haz clic para ver esta página en español.

For other Lane County records, please contact the appropriate department or click for more information on other records available through Lane County.

Please note that Vital Records are not public record and are subject to limited access for directly related family members or as permitted under Oregon Statute.


Vital Records Fees are $25.00 per certificate, as of January 1, 2018. For more information on fees, visit Oregon State Vital Records webpage. (Para más información sobre los honorarios, visita el sitio de web de Oregon State Vital Records (Registro Civil División del Estado de Oregón) (en inglés).

For records corrections (made through the state office in Portland) please click Birth and Death Certificate Changes and Corrections FAQ.

For more information on requesting a birth or death certificate, please click on one of the links below:

Birth Certificates for Babies under 5 Months and 28 Days

Lane County Vital Records is only able to print Certificates for babies born in Lane County within the first 5 months and 28 days from birth.

Birth Certificates may be requested by mail or in person from Lane County Vital Records. 

Mail Orders
Requests submitted by mail should include a complete order form, a copy of photo identification, and payment in the form of a check or money order.  Valid photo identification must include current address; if photo identification does not have current address, please include separate proof of address.  Please DO NOT mail cash. 

Download a mail order form in English.  (Haz clic para bajar la solicitud para el Acta de Nacimiento en español.)

Walk-In Service
Request in-person to receive same-day service.  Please be prepared to show photo identification. For orders submitted in-person, we accept Checks, Money Order, Cash, Visa, and Mastercard.

See information below for requesting a Birth Certificate for adults or for babies older than 5 months & 28 days.

Birth Certificates for Individuals older than 5 Months and 28 Days

Birth Certificates for individuals born in Oregon greater than 5 months & 28 days ago can be requested through Oregon State Vital Records.

​Contact Information for Oregon State Vital Records:
Oregon State Vital Records Office
800 NE Oregon Street, Suite 205
Portland OR 97232
(971) 673-1190

To learn more about requesting a Certificate by mail or in person from Oregon State Vital Records, visit The Center for Health Statistics & Vital Records.   Requests for Certificates can also be submitted online or by phone through VitalChek, open 24/7: visit VitalChek or call 1-888-896-4988.

Death Certificates within Six Months from Date of Death

Lane County Vital Records is only able to print Certificates for deaths which occurred in Lane County within 6 months from date of death.

Certificates can be requested by mail or in person to Lane County Vital Records.

Mail Orders
Requests submitted by mail should include a complete order form, a copy of photo identification, and payment in the form of a check or money order.  Valid photo identification must include current address; if photo identification does not have current address, please include separate proof of address.  Please DO NOT mail cash. 

Download an order form in English.  (Haz clic para bajar la solicitud para el Acta de Defunción en español.)

Walk-In Service
Request in-person to receive same-day service.  Please be prepared to show photo identification. For orders submitted in-person, we accept Checks, Money Order, Cash, Visa, and Mastercard.

See information below for requesting Certificates for deaths occurring greater than 6 months ago.

Death Certificates for more than Six Months from Date of Death

Certificates for deaths which occurred in Oregon more than 6 months from date of death must be requested through Oregon State Vital Records.

Contact Information for Oregon State Vital Records:
Oregon State Vital Records Office
800 NE Oregon Street, Suite 205
Portland OR 97232
(971) 673-1190

To learn more about requesting a Certificate by mail or in person from Oregon State Vital Records, visit The Center for Health Statistics & Vital Records.   Requests for Certificates can also be submitted online or by phone through VitalChek, open 24/7: visit VitalChek or call 1-888-896-4988.